English Français Deutsch Español Italiano Nederlands Português Polski Türkçe русский

Calculate Chinese Zodiac Sign

Discover your Chinese horoscope and its meaning


Chinese Zodiac Signs

The Chinese zodiac signs, also known as the Chinese zodiac, represent a unique aspect of ancient Chinese culture and philosophy. They are based on a twelve-year cycle, with each year associated with a specific animal sign: Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, and Pig, in that order.

The Chinese zodiac system has been an essential part of Chinese culture for thousands of years and remains relevant to this day. It is deeply rooted in Chinese astrology, philosophy, and everyday life. In fact, in China, when you ask someone, "What's your zodiac sign?" they usually refer to their Chinese zodiac sign, not the western astrological signs.

The Chinese zodiac signs are based on the lunar years of the Chinese calendar, not the solar years like western astrology. This means that the Chinese New Year's Day, which marks the beginning of a new animal sign, falls between January 21 and February 20, depending on when the new moon appears.

Each of the twelve animals in the Chinese zodiac has unique characteristics and personality traits attributed to people born under that sign. For example, people born in the year of the Rat are seen as smart, resourceful, and versatile, while those born in the year of the Dragon are considered confident, brave, and passionate.

The origin of the Chinese zodiac is often attributed to an ancient legend. According to the story, the Jade Emperor, the ruler of heaven, called all animals to participate in a race. The first twelve animals to reach the finish line would be immortalized in the Chinese zodiac. The Rat, clever and cunning, rode on the back of the Ox and jumped forward at the last moment to win the race. This explains why the Rat is the first sign in the zodiac and the Ox the second.

It is believed that the characteristics and behavior of the animals in the Chinese zodiac have a profound influence on people's personalities, behavior, and fate. This system is often used to help make decisions about marriage, career, and other significant life events.

In addition, the Chinese zodiac signs are also used in Feng Shui, an ancient Chinese art of placement and orientation aimed at enhancing the positive energy or 'Qi' in the environment. Each of the twelve signs has specific Feng Shui remedies and enhancements.

Although the Chinese zodiac signs may seem light-hearted and entertaining, they represent a complex system of beliefs and practices that have been an integral part of Chinese culture for thousands of years. They provide insight into the deep connection between man and nature central to Chinese philosophy and remain a valuable tool for self-reflection and understanding.

It is essential to note that, while the Chinese zodiac system is fascinating, it is only one aspect of the rich and varied Chinese astrology. This practice also includes other elements such as the Five Elements (wood, fire, earth, metal, water), the Yin and Yang duality, and the study of the celestial stems and earthly branches. Each of these components plays a crucial role in forming a holistic picture of an individual's fate and personality according to Chinese astrology.

The 12 Chinese Zodiac Signs

Zodiac Sign Description
Rat Smart, resourceful, and versatile.
Ox Determined, reliable, and methodical.
Tiger Brave, confident, and passionate.
Rabbit Kind, considerate, and responsible.
Dragon Enthusiastic, ambitious, and majestic.
Snake Wise, mysterious, and charming.
Horse Energetic, free-spirited, and cheerful.
Goat Calm, thoughtful, and sympathetic.
Monkey Funny, creative, and curious.
Rooster Honest, punctual, and reliable.
Dog Loyal, honest, and sincere.
Pig Kind, generous, and patient.

Copyright © 2024 clcl8r.com - Free Online Calculators

  About Us   |   Terms and Conditions   |   Privacy Policy   |   Disclaimer   |   Contact